Can anyone catch the Snitch?

Can anyone catch the Snitch?

The Golden Snitch, often simply called the Snitch, is the third and smallest ball used in Quidditch. The Quidditch rule also stated that only the two team’s Seeker has the right to catch (or touch) the Snitch, any player other than the Seeker to do so commits a foul called a Snitchnip.

How did Harry Potter catches the Snitch?

Though he managed to stay on his broom through a combination of his own skill, Severus Snape casting a counter-jinx, and a distraction provided by Hermione Granger, Harry was still swung wildly through the air in the ordeal. As a result of this, Harry accidentally “caught” the Golden Snitch in his mouth.

Who catches the snitch in Harry Potter?

the Seeker

Can you catch the snitch and lose?

A team can catch the snitch and lose the game yet still when the cup if their points for the season are higher than the opponents.

Does the snitch have to be caught to end the game?

Catching the all-important Snitch ends the game. But if your team is down more than 150 points, you have no incentive to catch the Snitch. Plus, the seeker seems to be more important than just about anybody else on the field of play.

Can you win without catching the snitch?

Snitch is only 150 points, so yeah it’s possible to win a match without catching the snitch. You just need a difference of more than 150 points before you let the opponent catch the snitch.

What happens if the snitch isn’t caught?

Every goal is worth 10 points and the team whose Seeker captures the Golden Snitch earns an additional 150 points. This means if a team is more than 15 goals ahead, it can still win even if their Seeker fails to catch the Snitch.

Is catching the Golden Snitch The only way to win?

The only way a Quidditch game can end is if the Golden Snitch is caught. The Golden SNitch however does not automatically win your team the game. If you catch the Snitch and earn the 150 points, your team may still be a few points behind the opposition.

How many times does Harry catch the Snitch?

Specifically: How many times in the books during a game of Quidditch has Harry Potter caught the Golden Snitch? Searching the HP wiki’s plot summaries suggests 4 times while another source suggests 7 times.

Why is the Golden Snitch worth 150 points?