Can a planet break?

Can a planet break?

Is it possible for a planet to break apart? Yeah. There are small planetary bodies in the solar system that are tight clouds of rocks, ice and other solid matter in a that orbit close enough that they have a gravity well.

What is unique about Janus and Epimetheus?

Epimetheus and Janus are small, irregularly-shaped moons with diameters of about 120 and 180 kilometers (about 75 and 110 miles), respectively. Both are on slightly eccentric orbits around Saturn. Because Janus is four times more massive than Epimetheus, it fell four times less than Epimetheus rose.

Is epimetheus a moon?

Epimetheus is a potato-shaped moon with a mean radius of 36 miles (58 km) and dimensions of 84 x 65 x 65 miles (135 x 108 x 105 km, respectively).

Who discovered epimetheus?

Richard Walker

What does Roche limit mean?

Roche limit, in astronomy, the minimum distance to which a large satellite can approach its primary body without tidal forces overcoming the internal gravity holding the satellite together.

What is the significance of the Roche limit for a planet quizlet?

the external tidal forces on an object become greater than the internal forces that hold it together. The Roche limit is the point at which: it has a rich atmosphere that may resemble that of the early Earth.

What are Jupiter’s rings like quizlet?

Jupiter’s rings is composed of tiny dust specks orbiting inside its Roche Limit. Satellites can orbit inside a planet’s Roche Limit and survive if it is a solid piece of rock strong enough to endure the tidal forces trying to pull it apart.

What is the source of Jupiter’s excess energy?

Internal Heat The jovian planets get their heat from the Sun and from their interiors. Jupiter creates a lot of internal heat and releases this heat by emitting thermal radiation. In fact, Jupiter creates so much internal heat that it emits almost twice as much energy as it receives from the Sun.

Which of the following is a common characteristic of the Jovian planets?

The Jovian planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. They orbit far from the sun. These planets have no solid surfaces and are essentially large balls of gas composed primarily of hydrogen and helium. They are much larger than the terrestrial planets (Earth, Mercury, Venus, and Mars).

What are the four Jovian planets?

Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune collectively make up the group known as the jovian planets.

What do you mean by Jovian planets?

The giant planets of the outer solar system (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune) are often referred to as ‘Jovian planets’. It is often used to contrast these massive planets with the inner Earth-like or terrestrial planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars.