Table of Contents
At what age can a child decide which parent to live with in California?
What does a 70/30 custody schedule look like?
70/30 Schedules: Every 3rd Week & Every Weekend. A 70/30 child custody schedule has your child live with one parent for 70 percent of the time and the other parent for 30 percent of the time. Many parents choose this type of schedule, and it might work well for you, depending on your situation.
At what age can a father have his child overnight?
Do I have to let my child father see him?
The father has no legal right to see their child without a court order. Thus, the best course of action for a father who desires visitation or custody of his child is to first establish paternity. The easiest way to do this is to be present when the child is born, and help the mother fill out the birth certificate.
Can I move with my child if there is no custody agreement?
While you may be permitted to move without a custody agreement in place, even if you believe you or your child is in danger, taking your child away from his or her other parent without a judicial order could get you into trouble.
What rights does a father have if the mother moved away?
Parental Responsibility is a legal term which means you have the right to make decisions on behalf of your children, such as where they live. However, the father could apply for a court order to prevent her from moving the children away.
How far can you legally move from my child’s father?
While there is no limit to how far a parent can move, if the move will result in a decrease in parenting time to the other parent in violation of a court order, the moving parent must first obtain permission from the other parent or permission from the court before proceeding.
How far away can a parent move with a child?
Can a mother with full custody move out of state?
If you are a parent who has sole custody of your child or children, you do have the right to move out of state with your children. In California, by law, a custodial parent must provide in writing their intention to move out of state with their child. This notice must be at least 45 daysbefore the move.
How can a mother lose custody of her child in California?
Serious neglect is proper grounds for a mother to lose custody. There is no “perfect parent” standard in the California Family Code. A mother’s serious neglect that endangers the health, safety, education, or general welfare of the child should cause the mother to lose custody of her child.
How does custody work if you live in different states?
When parents live in different states, one of the states will have jurisdiction over the custody arrangements. If you and the other parent do not agree on which state has jurisdiction over your custody arrangements, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act determines which state has jurisdiction.
Can I refuse to let my ex see my child?
You Have Legal Rights! If you can prove that he or she is intentionally withholding the children from you, the court will take action to enforce the court orders. If the problem persists, it can result in contempt of court or the judge may even consider awarding you custody.
What is a stable environment for a child?
Safety: The extent to which a child is free from fear and secure from physical or psychological harm within their social and physical environment. Stability: The degree of predictability and consistency in a child’s social, emotional, and physical environment.
What is considered bad living conditions for a child?
Lack of necessary health care. Unsanitary living areas. Food lacking in nutrition. Emotional and physical abuse.